Audulus Fundamentals: Signal Type Values & Resolution/Rate

I am new to Audulus and relatively new to sound synthesis. I have a programming (I’ve written full applications using JavaScript) background however.

I started reading the Audulus 3 Module Library Docs. The signal types section is incredibly useful for understanding the fundamentals of the environment… and I have some questions. :slight_smile:

1. What is the audio rate (at which signals are processed)? Is this a setting or a constant that’s hardcoded into the software?

2. Is Audulus event driven or everything is re-processed constantly (at audio rate)? My question is: if a value is 0 and it changes to 1, is it processed because there is an event listener registering that there was a change OR the entire signal path is re-processed constantly at the audio rate mentioned above?

3. It sounds like the 4 expected signal types are:

Gate
on / off: ex. 0, 1…

Modulation
0 to 1: ex. 0.5, 1…

1/octave
?: ex. -1/12

Audio
-1 to 1: ex. -1, 0.5…

The above is correct? :slight_smile:

1. For the 1/octave
    What is the range of acceptable values? The human ear has a range (which varies a bit from person to person), but is there an expected range for this type of signal in Audulus? In other words could I go -7 or 10 (even though it would not produce a sound one could hear?

2. If I have a modulation based on an expression/vector (say it’s a sine) would the modulation be processed at the audio rate?

Thank you!!

1 Like

On iOS, it’s 44.1k. On computer, you can run it at higher sample rates, but there are some issues - one of which I think is the VCOs tuning is tied to sample rate, so higher sample rate increases pitch. This will be fixed at some point.