What would you suggest for a cheap (possibly free?) DAW that works with Audulus?

I’ve finally got my MIDI controller all set up, but setting up Soundflower for my Mac to connect Audulus to Garageband didn’t work out well (though part of it is definitely because I’m a total noob, haha). I’m looking for other options, other DAWs that I could record into that are cheap, or, better yet, free. Any suggestions?

As always, thanks!

1 Like

My current method for recording Audulus in a DAW until the AU/VST rework is to physically plug output 3 into input 3 on my audio interface. It’s a nice interface so there is very little noise, but OSX does not make routing inter app audio nice and tidy like on iOS. Long live cables!

I haven’t used these DAWs personally but, Cakewalk recently became free and Reaper has a pretty solid reputation.

Cubasis and Auria on iOS are also pretty good options if you go that route.

2 Likes

Okay, thanks! I’m going to have to give those recs a try. Thanks again!

1 Like

I’ve used Reaper for a few years now and I’m very happy with it. It’s not free, but it’s very reasonable for personal use. It is an extremely powerful DAW and is very flexible, but as a result it has a bit of a learning curve. You can try it out for free and the demo is actually the full version. There is a downloadable user’s manual which is a great place to start, and quite a bit of material on the web as well. I also use Soundflower and SoundFlowerBed and I’ve had pretty good luck with both. What kind of problems did you have with Soundflower?

2 Likes

Well, I was trying to follow the instructions you’d posted about it a little while ago, but I couldn’t quite figure it out; like, I wasn’t able to get any sound out of it. Maybe it’s something stupid that I didn’t notice, like maybe I need headphones or something. I should try it again, since I really don’t have the money to afford anything else at the moment.

Thanks for the input, btw!

1 Like