The VP-330 project

VS-305 Vintage Voice and String synthesizer

Hi,

I’m SansNom, an Audulus user since version 1. You probably don’t know me but I used to be pretty active in the old forum. This thread is the continuation of this thread.

Today I’m posting a special “module”, a project I’ve been working on for many years, literally thousands of hours of work.

This is an instrument based on the Roland VP-330 and RS-505 string machines. Since I don’t own the original instruments (never ever seen one for real either!), I built this emulation using:

• the extremely detailed service manuals for the original machines published by Roland
  • analog circuit simulation techniques (using the now defunct SPICE MultiSim touch app for iPad)
  • samples and videos found around the web

Disclaimer: This module has been developed and tested in Audulus v 3.5.3. I have not installed the latest version of the app since one critical node has been modified, in fear that it would completely break the instrument. It is also quite demanding in cpu, tested and working fine on an iPad pro 12.9 1st gen. That’s probably the minimum requirement. Hoping that it works on the last version of Audulus (3.6). Edit: it works!

VS-305 specifications:

• phase-locked oscillators mimicking the divide-down circuitry of the original instruments
  • emulation of the original waveforms using analog modeling techniques
  • strings section with feet mixing knobs (taken from the RS-505)
  • human voice section
  • bass section (taken from the RS-505)
  • VP-330 ensemble effect
  • modeling of the pitch shifting modes of the VP-330 and the RS-505 (Manual and Auto modes)
  • vibrato sections for the human voice or all voices (taken from the RS-505), with correct timings
  • the instrument voicing can be paraphonic (original) or fully polyphonic
  • includes a BBD harmonic distortion model
  • includes a compander model
  • mono/stereo control