Soul Crusher - decimator, sample rate modulator, and curve mapper

I was inspired by the Geiger Counter pedal and how it aggressively seems to use a few simple operations to make such a fun tone. This is my first attempt at a general-purpose patch and one that is (hopefully) somewhat decently documented. Any critique is appreciated!

Soul Crusher.audulus (8.4 KB)

My goal is to create a decent noise gate so I can use this with my guitar on my ipad as a harsh effects pedal work-alike.

Please share any feedback you have since I’m eager to get better. I want to make some patches that, come Audulus 4, other people find useful :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Looks good! the only suggestion I would make would be to use the sample rate node when making calculations about the sample rate, since Apple is now default 48 khz but some users have 44.1khz running.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum! Always good to have another contributor. Nice patch. It’s well laid out and documented and it’s an interesting effect. A couple of minor points in addition to the sample rate node that @robertsyrett mentioned. It would be better to avoid using the legacy knob that provides a label and adjustable range. It’s been deprecated in favor of the clamped knob. Because the original knob doesn’t have a hard-coded range, modulation of the knob was a bit unpredictable. When modulated by an external signal, the knob will output whatever value is applied. Modulation values outside the range that the initial module designer intended often resulted in unpredictable behavior.