Purpose built iOS rack

Hello,

Looking to build a small rack specifically for interacting with iPad. My primary use would be sending signals from electromagnetic mics (Lom Elektrosluch) through the rack, into audulus, and then Cubasis.

I’ve tossed together a couple ideas on modular grid, but since I have no experience with modular I feel like I might be missing something, or being unnecessarily redundant. I’ve blocked it out into 3 sections. Input, modulation, and interface.

4 Likes

Looks like a lot of fun. What inspired this concept?

1 Like

Well, it’s kind of a long story. Back in my younger days I was an electronic signals analyst for the USAF. Basically studying radar, jammers, etc. so I have a good grasp of the em spectrum and signal flow. Parallel to that I’ve always been a musician. Not too long ago I discovered the Lom Elektrosluch, which is a nifty gadget to hear electromagnetic noise. I got a couple and went searching for sounds and came across several sources that are rhythmic and usable for music! So I started recording and writing music as a proof of concept. That was Borgasm!

Now I’m looking for ways to expand on this concept to create more sounds based on EM noise.

2 Likes

That sounds utterly unique. What are some of the ways you are planning to use Audulus?

1 Like

I want to make an envelope follower for bass sounds, experiment with clocks and sidechaining, and other weird stuff.

2 Likes

In order to be more helpful in giving advice, it would be great if you can give us some example patches.

Do you know about the patch function on Modular Grid?

15%20AM\

This would give us a clearer idea as to the proposed signal flow.

The thing that jumps out to me most is the compressor. I take it you’re using it to tame loud clicking noises and bring them more in line with some background hiss?