Gain Sharing Auto Mixer

Hey there,

I am new to Audulus and trying to create a Gain Sharing Automatic Mixer with Audulus. My use case is multiple vocal microphone tracks with a DAW.

Is anyone able to tell me if it is possible with Audulus? Potentially help me create the layout in the following diagram?

Tyler

1 Like

The biggest problem you would have processing multiple channels is currently Audulus only supports two channels when used as an AU/VST. In order to use more than two channels in a single instance of Audulus, it would be necessary to run Audulus in stand-alone mode. This is potentially possible in the macOS environment using SoundFlower. but probably isn’t the best solution.
Probably the best way to implement this is using a set of compressors with side chain inputs. You create a send bus with the sum of the uncompressed signals from each channel and use the output of this bus to control a compressor on each channel. You then mix the compressed outputs together. This way you limit the output of the mix.
It is certainly possible to build a compressor using Audulus, and there are several examples posted on the forum. You might find this one of some use: Moonwalk - a compressor to pump your kicks

1 Like

I never figured out the secret sauce for the Dugan automixer, but when I worked at a news station I created a routing configuration that worked similarly for a talking head show.

I had four speakers, so I made four buses with compressors and sent all the mics except for the person speaking to the sidechain of the coompressor for that channel.

So the sidechain of channel 1 compressor would be fed signal from channels 2,3,4. The sidechain of channel 2 compressor was fed signal from channels 1,3,4. And so on. This way when one person talks, it compresses every one else’s mic down.