Expression

I was wondering if I’m using the expression node in a way more people do. Anyway, is it a workabout, or is it something that does the trick? It certainly does nice stuff in my opinion! Since I knew about the exp-node it has become a little obsession of me. I enormously enjoy how Audulus is designed this way! Also @robertsyrret’s tutorial on counters, really got me into a rollercoaster. I am a professional musician and have, as a pianist, a world of music litteraly at my fingertips, but this is something else that triggers me a lot. Somehow I never got any math any further than the tables. No trigonometry, no nothing else. Learning this now and guess what? Thank to Audulus, just getting it all step by step! But here’s the thing: I learned about f(x). Which is a function. And how to ‘use’ it. That is, tincker with whatever x may be and the output. Great. I get it. Now I wanted to use it in Audulus. Because Audulus rewards you instantly with an audible answer aswell. Since A3 doesn’t understand f(x) I designed an expression for it to do so. With a counter that constantly changes x and an output for x. Plug it into a VCO and instant bebop. Have a look at it and tell me if I’m right or just too high on rabbithole fumes. I uploaded the expression: x==o?sin(o+o):0
Hope this may be fun to others too!

2 Likes

Interesting. So x input is a counter? What is o in this case? Assuming 1v/oct tuning but what are you feeding it in this case?

1 Like

Hi Jersmi! Nice to see you. I guess I forgot an important thing here! The input of the VCO should have the expression sin(x). So it is as follows: x==o?sin(o+o):0 into sin(x). Both the inputs of the first expression are the same counter. For starters. You can always change the (o+o) part into (o*o+1) etc. Hope I got something here. I should upload a patch I guess. Let me hear if it works. Cheers!

1 Like