Can anyone tell me why my patch is behaving this way?

I have been giving this a lot of consideration lately, and I thought I had figured out a solid way to do a simple drum beat to start and then I would build up from there. I don’t like the randomness, which is all I have been able to achieve, other than having all drum sounds hit on the same beat. So I built this with the 16 step seq module, and as you can see, what I meant to happen is for a bass drum kick, then a rest, then a snare, and finally a cymbal, then repeat. I’m still learning, and I’m not sure yet about the best way to do things, but this seemed more clever and home built than routing sound in from another app for my drums, but I am starting to think that may be all I am able to do, at least until I can figure out how best to imitate a drum beat like I would set up on the MIDI editor of LPX. I am sure there are modules in the library that can help with this dilemma, but using prebuilt patches is difficult for me because I have found a lot of them lacking documentation, or I find myself struggling to understand why the math expressions or routing of the signals used in the patch(es) make it do what it does. I don’t typically like to work with things I don’t fully understand. Can anyone offer help, advice or suggestions about how best to attack this situation? Thanks!
Drum Pattern Attempt.audulus (430.0 KB)

I’d recommend starting by making a strip of triggers for each drum sound. You can do this pretty easily with the seq 16 node or some mux nodes. You basically have toggles on each of the steps and you multiply the seq 16 output by the clock input so that you output a gate on triggered steps.

Drum Pattern Mutant.audulus (968.4 KB)

The Know Your Nodes videos on counters, switches, and clocks probably have some useful bits you can put to work making your Audulus masterpiece.

1 Like