Beginner questions

As a newb, I have been wondering if there is a cheat sheet/quick reference somewhere that I have missed that explains what some of the common abbreviations mean that people use in the posted patches here.

There is often an ‘o’ or an ‘a’ or a ‘g’ in an input/output glyph – and probably other letters as well – it would be nice if there were a cheat sheet of basic things like this and other things that newbs might need to be reminded about. Maybe something in the Audulus directory that gets installed with the app. (I’m using it on iOS).

2 Likes

Btw, I think that I have pieced together that ‘0’ is 1/octave for note input. ‘g’ is gate and ‘a’ is maybe audio. Is ‘m’ modulator?

1 Like

https://discourse.audulus.com/t/audulus-3-library-reface/1455/87

This is the ongoing project to fix the confusion. These new modules will be more well labeled and easier to comb through. Download the latest zip and try a few of them out!

Basically g is gate, a is audio, m is modulation, o is 1/octave. Connect like to like generally :slight_smile:

2 Likes

What is ‘z’?

Is there a module with a z?

1 Like

That’s the indicator for a feedback loop. It shows you where the feedback delay is present. z is a variable for delay, so z-1 is a single sample delay, for example.

It’s not a letter that is put there with a node like these others were, it just automatically appears. If you use the FeedbackDelay node or the UnitDelay node, you can explicitly determine where the delay occurs. If not, Audulus will just try to guess where to put it.

You need a feedback delay because you can’t compute a result that depends on itself instantaneously. Like create an expression node where 1+x=x and attach a value node - you’ll notice it count up really quickly - that’s because there’s a small delay in the calculation of the input x and the output of the 1+x expression. Use a UnitDelay between the output and x and it will count even faster.

2 Likes