Absolute Beginner: BPM Clock + Sequencer + Waveform Meter Questions

I just started using Audulus and I made my first incredibly basic patch. I have some questions about how to modify my patch to work as I would like it to.

1. I used the basic 4 step sequencer and a BPM clock. I modified the BPM clock’s range to be from 0 to 4 instead of 0 to 1. If you download the patch I have uploaded you will see that to have a 4 step sequencer with the clock set to 480 bpm. This gives me a 120bpm, 4 steps (1 beat) sequencer.

I would like to have a BPM clock and sequencer similar to the ones in classic Roland drum machines (in their most basic form)

• sequencer: 16 steps (4 beats), where each step only has pitch.
  • clock: 40 to 160 bpm range, with a single knob for the tempo.
  • no phasor :slight_smile:

Are there modules for the clock and sequencer that I can download, which are closer to what I am trying to accomplish (would require fewer modifications)? Or should I open the ones I am using and try to modify them?

The sequencer is an easier change as there is already an 8 step one, which does more or less what I need. I can just open it and add 8 steps.

The clock is more of “mystery” to me. :slight_smile: I am not sure how to remove the phasor and it’s not immediately obvious to me how to make the knob display 120 instead of 480, to make it work with my sequencer as described above. :slight_smile:

1. I only set a pitch value for one of my steps and I used the basic waveform meter on my osc output to see the peaks. Even though I only have one step the peaks seem to vary (instead of being the same), which confuses me. Shouldn’t they be the same?

Thank you for helping an absolute beginner!

04.audulus (30.6 KB)

This may be along the lines of what you’re talking about:

https://discourse.audulus.com/t/hold-seq/982

Basic BPM.audulus (39.2 KB)

Here’s a basic example using a strip sequencer from the library.

• added bpm modifier

Thank you! This is very helpful!