I'm totally blind Reaching out regarding possible project idea to make audulus accessable to totally blind users please help

Hi everyone I hope you’re doing well and staying safe happy New Year, I hope you all enjoyed the New Year’s celebrations. I’m Trey from the UK I’m a totally blind electronic musician, Currently I make music with a combination of reaper hardware and modular synthesisers on Mac OS. Even though I use hardware modular synthesisers for my digital synthesis, I thought it would be cool for a long time if software modular could be made accessible to totally blind users. Recently I read about the new audulus4 update And it’s compatibility with the lua programming language. I know this is a longshot, and I have no coding experience myself. But does anybody think it would be possible to make audulus Accessible to blind users using the lua Programming language or other open source means? And would anybody be up for collaborating with me on this project? For an example of a synthesiser that is visual but that has achieved accessibility take a look at metosynth by Fuji juce:
https://www.wooji-juice.com/products/mitosynth/

I’ve posted this here in the builds section because I didn’t know where else to post this I hope nobody minds. Thank you for taking the time to read this message, and I hope you can help me with this venture. I look forward to hearing from you all respect and blessings Trey.

3 Likes

Thank you for reaching out Trey! We’ve talked about how to make Audulus accessible to blind people, and it’s a really tough design issue.

For example, if you are wiring something, how do you give the user feedback that you’re approaching an input? How would you as a user know that it’s the right input you’re trying to go for if you have two identical nodes (or 10 or 50, as sometimes happens?).