Filter in the delay node?

(this is my first time posting something here and im not sure if I chose the right category)

Some time ago I had the idea to build a audio-looper in audulus and i even build a working prototype Groundhog Audio-Looper.audulus (588.8 KB)

I hadn’t worked on it for a while and recently I wanted to pick it up again but it didn‘t work properly anymore.
The sound now gets filtered every time it loops.

To loop sound I used multiple delay nodes in a row so I took a closer look at the Delay node and it looks like it has a build in filter now that you realy start to notice if you put multiple delays in a row.
a lot of delays.audulus (42.8 KB)

Is there a filter in the delay node and when yes why was it added there?

1 Like

There isn’t a filter in the delay node, but what I’m thinking is happening is the difference between the time knob value vs. sample rate gets compounded when you add a ton of them.

I just did an experiment and it seems to confirm that theory - especially since the version you uploaded had delays that were all slightly different times. If you string together 64 of them and have them all the exact same time, it seems like there’s an initial filtering, but then it holds pretty steadily. If you change it to a non-divisible number of 44.1k, the filtering is more extreme.

a lot of delays - sample error.audulus (52.4 KB)

Did you know though that the Delay node can go up to 20 seconds? If you have 20 of them, that means you have the potential for 6+ minutes of record time per loop. If your max division is 16 bars, then each bar would last almost 3/4s of a minute at the maximum.

If you use just one delay node, your max time for each bar would be 1.25s - so maybe use just two or three?

The Build category is more for building help like this - the category you initially posted in is more for tutorials about nodes :slight_smile:

By the way, this seems like an excellent patch! Makes me want to break out my electric guitar and jam away