Building a MPE-able poly osc

Hi There,

I’m new to Audulus but not modular.

I’ve got a Linnstrument and want to build a basic poly oscillator that responds to MPE and aftertouch, with some controls mapped to MIDI CC’s. Let’s say I’m working with 4 voices. If you don’t know MPE, it’s explained here: http://www.rogerlinndesign.com/mpe.html

My plan is to build a poly oscillator that I can then run through an analog filter and other controls on my modular, so I don’t need the full voice in Audulus, and want to just focus on control of the oscillator.

As far as I can tell, I want 4 midi inputs (one for each channel), each of which is linked to its own oscillator. I don’t see a module for MIDI modulations though – if I want to use aftertouch to modulate pulse width, how do I do that? And let’s say I want to scale that (assign a knob that allows me to go from aftertouch having a lot of effect to a little)? And if I want to assign a parameter to an external knob, like waveform, how do I do that?

I was thinking of using the subharmonic oscillator module as my oscillator. I can easily assign 4 midi channels (or one midi channel in poly mode, but then no MPE for me!).

Another thing I was thinking about was fine detuning for big effects, like on the new Demon Core (details here: https://www.synthtopia.com/content/2019/04/26/supercritical-synthesizers-demon-core-oscillator-packs-16-analog-oscillators-into-one-module/) . This oscillator looks cool but then, I thought, why spend hundreds of dollars when I’m already hooking up my iPhone to my modular? And I don’t think it will have MPE implementation.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have, or if someone has built something similar I can mod, I’d be interested to know more.

1 Like

Hi @JES, welcome :slight_smile:

Audulus 3 doesn’t support aftertouch, and if you tried to use MIDI CC’s, it can’t distinguish between channels. So I’m afraid the options are limited right now.