Playing with Phase Modulation
  • 20171111 - phase modulation.audulus
    20171111 - phase modulation.audulus 2017-11-13 15-27-30.png
    1024 x 790 - 97K
  • This is great!
  • What a coincidence, I have been having fun with phase modulation all day as well :) This reminds me of how the Intellijel Shape Shifter is designed. Which makes sense as it is basically a phase modulation dual oscillator.

Edit: Isn't Φ the mathematical symbol for phase? I thought alpha was 0-1 scaling on an input like frequency cut off on a filter.

Edit 2: Ok, I picked apart the patch a bit more and I think I understand why you labeled things the way you did. I think this is really GREAT! I think it might be more like casio phase distortion more than phase modulation, but it is wonderful sounding and I'm adding it to the other thing I was working on.
  • In my case, alpha came from animation parlance. Or at least my layman's understanding of it. I guess that's the key.. I'm a layman at everything but programming and guitar.. :)

Glad you like it! If you're interested I can modify my wavetable building code to build the nodes with the alpha hooks. Let me know.

In reading the Wikipedia article on Phase Distortion, I understood it as more of a smoothed out oscillator sync hack of some kind, but I suppose it could work out to the same thing.

As an aside, it occurred to me in building my alpha hooks that I didn't have a way to make "normally closed" input jacks.. I.e. if the alphas aren't hooked to anything, use some sort of default, like in your typical semi-modular synths. Has anybody figured out a way to do that?