Patch reusability--patch as a "class?"
  • I have found patches to be a great way to encapsulate some functionality in Adulus that I'd like to reuse. For instance, I made one that takes an input frequency and translates it up or down by half-steps, over some range, for harmonizing by a fixed interval. I used five copies of it with one recent synth project.

The word "copy" points to my problem.

The problem I have is that should I decide to modify that patch, I have to manually replace all instances of it in my project, or else edit each in the same way. very time-consuming and prone to errors.

Am I missing something?

I have some experience (not recently, believe me!) with "object-oriented programming," where I'd write some code for a "class" and "instantiate" it wherever I needed it. If I found a problem with the code or wanted to change how it operated in some way, I could just make my changes to the code for that class and all instances that point to that class would be changed.

is there a similar mechanism in Adults?
  • You aren't missing something, that is how Audulus works and not how max and pd work.