[Solved] Kick Drum in Cubasis 2 using Inter-App Audio
  • I would like to create a colourful, heady kick drum in Audulus 3 and be able to bring it into Cubasis 2 through Inter-App Audio.

How to I use the midi notes in Cubasis to trigger my kick drum in Audulus? Is there a specific node or way of routing to accomplish this? I am new to Audulus, but have been working with Reaktor and VCV Rack for a while, so I have some basic understanding of modular synthesis.

*** It turns out I had to set my MIDI output to Audulus on in Cubasis 2 for that channel.

However, I would still appreciate any tips for adding colour and character to a kick within Audulus 3 -- or if anyone knows where I can find a patch other than the basic Kick in the program itself.
  • At this point the Audulus plugin only receives MIDI via the keyboard node so you would have to send a note to Audulus and use the gate on the keyboard node to trigger your kick. For Audulus standalone you have three choices as far as MIDI goes. As well as the keyboard node, Audulus MIDI triggers respond to MIDI note messages and knobs respond to MIDI CC commands. Triggers and knobs have a MIDI learn on their context menu which allow you to configure the specific MIDI message they will respond to. Audio from the kick can be routed back using the speaker node or DAC node if you are running standalone.
  • Here’s an emulation I did of a Roland 909 kick you could use as a starting point.
    uKick 909 V1.0.audulus
  • This is a really nice kick. Very much appreciated. Dumb question:

1. When I add a MIDI In module and a Audio Output and then hop back to the main window, my changes do not get saved. I thought things just autosaved when you hit the window at the top left. What gives?