Manual or Variable Value Thingy
  • Hi,

It's my first time sharing something I made!

My apologies for the terrible, terrible name, but I'm at a loss for naming this one. It's a simple utility that I made to control the frequency of an oscillator in a bigger synth I am making, but you could use it for any kind of control really. The manual knob simply controls its target like the target itself would -- just a manual control. The auto button is the fun button. Engage that and the output lets the LFO under the hood do its magic. The exposed Hz, oct and wave knobs are from the LFO inside the patch. The range controls how wide or narrowly the values fluctuate.

Inside the patch, I am clamping values between 20 and 150, and I have the manual knob also set with a min/max of 20 and 150, because these values were useful to me in my synth. Is there a way to make these variables that a user could enter on the front of the patch somehow? I don't mind going in and changing these when I need to, but it is annoying in terms of sharing it with everyone and making it easy for others. Sorry! :(

When auto is on, the manual knob controls where in the min/max spread the fluctuations occur.

I like fluctuations in pulse width, frequency, volume, etc, but I also like being able to manually control these elements too when playing. If you like those things too, you might find this useful.
    Manual or Variable Value Thingy.audulus
    Manual or Variable Value Thingy.png
    518 x 438 - 36K

An approach I often take to making my modules play nice with others is to keep the knob's min/max 0 and 1. That way any other 0-1 parameter can modulate it. Internally, the knob is connected to a crossfade node which serves the same function, but you can make a annotation about what that value represents.

You can also just use Scale/Offset modules for a lot of stuff. Anyways, I made spent a bunch of time messing up your patch and turning it into a generative melody.