Phase or Frequency modulation for newbie?
  • Hello, I'm new to Audulus, eager to learn more.
    Is there a preferred way to make FM or PM? I've tried with some basic math expressions, and experimented with frequencies and stuff, but haven't seemed to get it quite right yet. Thought I'd ask in case there's this obvious use of modules where it's all easy :)

Awesome app btw.
    Ps. I'm on iPad.

Cheers
    Cuckoo
  • I usually copy and paste the fm and pm stuff when I make an oscillator for a patch. Here is a patch I made with some phase modulation. I will also post some modules that I think might be useful to play with.
    Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 2.45.18 AM.png
    983 x 688 - 190K
    phase feedback voice.audulus
    Linear Zero-Crossing FM Oscillator Mk V.audulus
    Mini Osc.audulus
  • This is my first FM thing that's seems to sound legit. But it might be a rudimentary way of doing it. Gonna check out your files too @RobertSyrett Thanks!! And great stream yesterday by the way! Gotta catch up and watch the whole thing later today.
    IMG_0017.PNG
    2224 x 1668 - 454K
  • Wow @RobertSyrett Those are some advanced patches. Gotta take some deep diving to for fully understand what's going on underneath. That last one, "Mini OSC" sounds great!
  • This is the DX-7 Algo Clone I'm working on right now - it's not all the way finished, but getting there!

FM Audulus.audulus
    1M
  • @biminiroad woah, that's an insane patch! Sounds beefy and cool.
  • That's crazy stuff @biminiroad. As usual that is going to be an awesome display. Also, where are the oscillators hidden? All I see are envelopes and switches!

@cuckoo Thank you compliment, also your profile pic is amazing. Feel free to post any patches that aren't working as you expect. I'd be happy to revise and make notes.
  • Thanks @RobertSyrett Here's a little first pseudo FM-synth. It kinda works and sounds like FM, with my simple "vibrato" approach. Baby steps
    FM 1.audulus