Hard Sync Attempt
  • Hi - I'm new here, having just purchased Audulus 3 for Windows. Although I'm new to version 3, I have Audulus 2 for iPad (only have an iPad 2 so I wasn't able to upgrade to Audulus 3). In getting to know Audulus 3, I've been recreating some basic patches that I used to get to know Audulus 2. I was able to get through a few, but when I got to a hardsync patch, I got stuck.

I think my difficulty lies in the fact that the ADSR node now only has one input and one output as opposed to two and two in Audulus 2, and in Auduls 3, the ADSR node is placed differently in relation to the Oscillator. Specifically, in Audulus 2, the oscillator's output can feed into the ADSR node's In connection. In Audulus 3, there's no option for that, and the ADSR node's Env output feeds the oscillator's Amp input in order for the oscillator to make sound. (There may be other ways to work these nodes in Audulus 3 that I haven't yet discovered.)

I'm able to work with this different configuration, and as I said, I was able to recreate some of my old simple patches in Audulus 3. But the hard sync stumped me. I've uploaded a screenshot of each version of what I did - the Audulus 2 version, and my attempt with Audulus 3. They're both pretty simple so I won't waste time explaining the connections. The long and short of it is that although I'm getting sound out of the Audulus 3 version, it sounds more like a sick cat than a cool Cars-type P5 hard sync, which the Audulus 2 version sounded like! There is some syncing going on in the Audulus 3 version, but something is failing. I'm also uploading the .audulus file for the Audulus 3 version in case someone wanted to take a listen. Any advice is welcome - thanks in advance!
    Audulus2-HardSync.png
    1024 x 768 - 77K
    Audulus3HardSyncAttempt.jpg
    1040 x 807 - 79K
    HardSync_or_not.audulus