Is Audulus for me ?
  • Hi !

My Name is Nicolas,
    like most of you i'm a producer/sound designer, and like most of you i'm a technology enthusiast, always looking forward
    to experiment and try new stuff, i recently stumbled upon audulus and the interface got me really excited
    it looks really good and makes you wanna start patching right away but before i jump right in, i have few questions:

first things first, i'm a soft modular nerd, i use Reaktor, Tassman, and few other apps/vsts on a daily basis
    but the problem with most of the apps available today is either the lack of clear and intuitive GUI or the lack of possibilities.

So i see that Audulus has a workflow that looks fun to play with, but how limited are we ?
    i like to mangle sound, and in the module reference section on the website i didn't see any samplers or even audio input
    did i miss something ? or does Audulus only behave like a classical analogue modular ?

how about recent digital synthesis methods ?
    in the module list i didn't see any physical modeling generator, or spectral/additive/granular osc etc
    i see that you guys have created a big community around Audulus, and people are creating all sorts of modules,
    but what if i want to create mine, what does it takes ? do i have to code it ? or is there a more graphic way to do it ?
    for instance: Reaktor has a "Primary" section, that allows users to create modules/devices/instruments from scratch without a single line of code, is there something comparable in Audulus ?

just to make it clear:
    i'm not saying that Audulus is supposed to compare to stuff like Max, Reaktor or Kyma, or any low level/expensive
    DSP environnement, because it's clearly not the purpose here, but i'd just like to know what my options are before i buy it :)

anyway, i'm looking forward to hear from you guys !
    thanks again

• Hey @Nömak! Welcome to the Audulus forum :)

To your questions: